All New Studio Album Available September 25th on 429 Records

The Wall Street Journal Premieres Title Track

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Los Angeles, CA:  Los Lobos, the Grammy winning East L.A. legends comprised of David Hidalgo, Louie Perez, Cesar Rosas, Conrad Lozano and Steve Berlin, are back with an all new full length studio album, “Gates of Gold,” which will be released September 25th on 429 Records. Their first collection of new songs since 2010, the album was produced by the band who continue to hone their multi-faceted sound and fresh storytelling.  The 11 tracks showcase a band that continues to keep it real.  Their songs are snapshots of true life moments with themes ranging from the immigrant experience in America to melancholic ruminations on impending mortality.  The music is as dynamic, eclectic yet distinctive as ever. Thoughtful, darkly romantic and spiritual lyrics are enhanced by slow burning blues rock, impressionistic soul, traditional Mexican folk music or straight ahead garage band jams.  The band will embark on an extensive tour this year in support of the album (see confirmed dates below).  In addition, a new biography of the band, “Los Lobos—“Dream in Blue” written by Chris Morris—will be released in September by the University of Texas Press.
The Wall Street Journal premiered the title track today—listen to it here:

Los Lobos are entering their fifth decade, as the humblest of musical icons, having racked up countless accolades for their uncompromising artistry.  With four Grammys in hand and the respect and admiration of their musical peers, the band still hearken back to their beginnings as “the soundtrack of the barrio” and remain a cultural touchstone for a community.  Their accomplishment is reflected in the effortlessly spontaneous approach to recording.  Says Cesar Rosas: “When I listen to our catalog, doing things more spontaneously in the studio has led to some of our best work.” Adds Louie Perez:  “Unlike many bands that write, gather and catalog material between studio releases, Los Lobos prefers to create their magic on the fly when they decide it’s time to record.”

“Gates of Gold” Track Listing:

  1. Made to Break Your Heart
  2. When We Were Free
  3. Mis-Treater Boogie Blues
  4. There I Go
  5. Too Small Heart
  6. Poquito Para Aqui
  7. Gates of Gold
  8. La Tumba Sera El Final
  9. Song of the Sun
  10. I Believed You So
  11. Magdalena

Confirmed Tour Dates:
July 17                   Santa Barbara, CA                        Santa Barbara County Fair
July 18                   Palmdale, CA                                Palmdale Amphitheatre
July 30                   Arvada , CO                                  Arvada Center Amphitheatre
Aug. 1                   Casper, WY                                   Beartrap Summer Festival
Aug 2                     Billings, Mt                                    Magic City Blues Fest
Aug 7                     Aberdeen, WA                              D&R Theatre
Aug 8                     Arlington , WA                              Festival of the River
Aug 12                  Sterling Heights, MI                        Freedom Hill Amphitheatre
Aug 13                  Evanston, IL                                   SPACE
Aug 14                  Santa Fe, NM                                Buffalo Thunder Casino
Aug 21                  Breckenridge, CO                          Riverwalk Center
Aug 28                  Atlanta, GA                                    Atlanta Botanical Gardens
Sep 3                     Burlington, VT                               Rusty Nail
Sep 4                     Plymouth, NH                                Flying Monkey
Sep 5                     Charleston, RI                                Rhythm & Roots Festival
Sep 6                     Washington, DC                            The Hamilton
Sep 12                   Urbana , IL                                    Ellnora Festival
Sep 13                   Cincinnati, OH                               Taft Theatre
Sep 18                   Del Mar, CA                                  Kaaboo Festival
Sep 19                   Los Angeles, CA                            Levitt Pavilion
Sep 25                   New York, NY                              Beacon Theatre
Sep 26                   Winona , MN                                 Boats and Bluegrass Festival
Oct 2                      Lincoln City, OR                            Chinook Winds Casino
Oct 9                      Davis, CA                                      Mondavi Center @ UC Davis
Oct 10                   Santa Cruz, CA                               Moe’s Alley Blues Club
Nov 11                  Henderson, NV                               Henderson Pavilion
Nov 13                  Tacoma, WA                                   Pantages Theatre
Nov 14                  Edmonds, WA                                 Edmonds Center for the Arts

For more information visit:

429 Records is a unit of The Savoy Label Group (SLG).  SLG is the North American based division of Nippon Columbia the oldest music company in Japan.  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. The Savoy Label Group is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.

The SLG, Savoy Jazz and Denon Records catalogs are available for purchase at the following sites: