Songwriter Readies 429 Records Debut
Jaggedland In Stores June 2nd

April 2009 Santa Monica, CA :  Masterful singer/songwriter Marshall Crenshaw has signed with 429 Records and is gearing up for the release of his long-awaited album of new recordings, Jaggedland.  Crenshaw has penned and played on twelve sublime new tracks that shimmer and glow with the inimitable musical warmth and sly humor that the musician’s musician is known for.  Touching on a variety of subjects both intimate and wide-ranging, Crenshaw sings of love, mortality, the state of the world and the human condition.  Recorded partly in his hometown of Dutchess County, New York and partly in Los Angeles, the artist collaborated with a hand-picked circle of producers and musicians.  Producer Stewart Lerman began the process by recording a few of the tracks in Crenshaw’s home studio while Jerry Boys (Buena Vista Social Club) worked on the project with Crenshaw at Los Angeles’ Sage and Sound studio.  Also in the mix were top-notch musicians drummer Jim Keltner (a player with notables such as The Beatles, Rolling Stones and Bob Dylan); bassist Sebastian Steinberg,  guitarists Greg Leisz  and Wayne Kramer (of MC5 fame); and legendary vibraphonist/percussionist Emil Richards (known for his stellar work on the Beach Boys’ tour de force, Pet Sounds).  429 Records will release Jaggedland on June 2nd. 

The album title is a term that Crenshaw uses to describe the state of his brain and consciousness.  The 12 songs are musical observations of the multi-faceted range of human experience as seen the through the filter of the artist.  All of Crenshaw’s talents are on vivid display on Jaggedland—his trademark melodicism, humor and emotional honesty shine through on the vibrant recording, as well as his prodigious guitar playing.  Pointed and incisive as ever, the album resonates with an energy and immediacy of a fine-tuned ensemble, often captured in a single take. 

Jaggedland track listing:

  1. Right On Time
  2. Passing Through
  3. Someone Told Me
  4. Stormy River
  5. Gasoline Baby
  6. Never Coming Down
  7. Long Hard Road
  8. Jaggedland
  9. Sunday Blues
  10. Just Snap Your Fingers
  11. Eventually
  12. Live And Learn

Jaggedland is a career-defining record from one of America’s greatest songwriters and performers.  Says Crenshaw in a recent interview: “I worked with some of my heroes on this record.  We banged it out in three days.  The music is really nice and the songs are off the dial—the best ones I’ve done.”

429 Records is a unit of the Savoy Label Group (SLG).  SLG is the North American unit of CME (Columbia Music Entertainment), the oldest music company in Japan.  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a leading independent company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. SLG is lead by Steve Vining and CME is headed by Chairman Strauss Zelnick, founder of Zelnick Media which owns interests in and manages an array of media companies.

Kurt Nishimura

The SLG, Savoy Jazz and Denon Records catalogs are available for purchase at the following sites: