To Be Released March 24th on 429 Records/Savoy Label Group

January 27, 2015 Santa Monica, CA:  “Freedom’s just another word for turning off your phone,” says Nellie, who first collaborated with famed Beatles engineer Geoff Emerick on her debut “Get Away From Me.” They reunite for My Weekly Reader which will be released March 24th on 429 Records/Savoy Label Group.  With the aid of Emerick's golden ears, she covers songs from the era of political turmoil and creative delight by Zappa, Ray Davies, Steve Miller, Country Joe McDonald, and then some.  

The Wall Street Journal premiered the track “Murder in My Heart for the Judge” today—check it out here:

“It's important for us to be aware and not succumb to what (jazzman) Dave Frishberg has referred to as ‘weapons of mass distraction," adds Nellie. “These songs come out of a time of less cynicism - back in the 60's the darker things in society were balanced by a certain innocence and hope.”

The New Yorker has warily described McKay as “funny and touching, ceaselessly clever and scarily talented.”

Since her last album, besides eating potato chips and watching reruns of Mister Ed, Nellie has indulged an extended run in the award-winning off-Broadway hit “Old Hats” and written three acclaimed musical biographies – “I Want to Live!,” the story of Barbara Graham, third woman executed in the gas chamber at San Quentin, “Silent Spring: It's Not Nice to Fool Mother Nature,” an exploration of environmental pioneer Rachel Carson, and her latest, “A GIRL NAMED BILL - The Life and Times of Billy Tipton,” named one of the Best Concerts of 2014 by The New York Times.

A recipient of People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals Humanitarian Award in recognition of her dedication to animal rights, Nellie is an annoyingly vocal advocate for feminism, civil rights and other deeply felt progressive ideals. She is currently part of the campaign to get horse-drawn carriages off the streets of New York City.

My Weekly Reader tracks:

  1. Sunny Afternoon
  2. Quicksilver girl
  3. Poor People/Justice
  4. Murder in My Heart for the Judge
  5. Bold Marauder
  6. Itchycoo Park
  7. Mrs. Brown
  8. Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
  9. If I Fell
  10. Red Rubber Ball
  11. Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Crying
  12. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
  13. Wooden Ships

To preorder My Weekly Reader, visit:
For more information visit:

429 Records is a unit of The Savoy Label Group (SLG). SLG is the North American based division of Nippon Columbia the oldest music company in Japan. The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. The Savoy Label Group is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.

Kurt Nishimura

The SLG, Savoy Jazz and Denon Records catalogs are available for purchase at the following sites: