Stephen Stills, Kenny Wayne Shepherd & Barry Goldberg Gearing Up for the Release of the Follow Up to Chart Topping Debut “Can’t Get Enough”

First Single “Virtual World” Serviced to Radio Stations Today

February 29, 2016  Los Angeles, CA:  Rock icons Stephen Stills, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Barry Goldberg are back and gearing up for the release of their second album “Pierced Arrow” which will be released by 429 Records on May 8th.  “Pierced Arrow”—the title of which is a riff on the American classic car of the twenties—was produced by the trio along with bassist Kevin McCormick and drummer Chris Layton.  The all new album is a collection of original barnburners, soulful ballads and covers that follow in the very successful style and texture set on their chart topping debut album “Can’t Get Enough” (#1 Blues in Billboard and at iTunes and Amazon and a Top 200 Billboard top 40 debut), but this time with even more original material from Shepherd, Goldberg and Stills including the first single “Virtual World”—a new Stills composition that arrives at radio stations nationally today.  It’s the sound of a band that has really spent some productive time together and evolved into a cohesive group who’ve taken their music to another level.  The Rides will kick off a national tour on May 2nd in Minnesota and will make their way to the East Coast (with a date @ New York City’s Town Hall on May 12th) and then swing west.  Additional dates TBA.

For Stills, Shepherd and Goldberg, the process of writing songs from scratch on Can’t Get Enough and then touring opened an exciting new feeling of intimacy that fueled the creative process of writing and recording Pierced Arrow.

Says Stills: “We had so much fun playing on stage, we had to do it more. Lots of freedom. Kenny and I found a wonderfully exciting knack for playing lead at the same time without a real ‘arrangement,’  just sort of instinctive guessing, from watching each other’s hands. Neil Young and I used to do this with Buffalo Springfield. And the grooves are always right on the money, never rushed or jittery.”

Says Shepherd: “For me, it’s a liberating dynamic that’s different from my live solo band because I’m sharing the vocals and guitar playing with Stephen. I love being part of a unit where everyone weighs in with thoughts and opinions.”

Says Goldberg:  “It’s so great to be back recording and playing live on this high level again with Stephen and Kenny Wayne, and we’re really excited about the music on ‘Pierced Arrow’…The chemistry is just so good between the three of us. We all have so much respect for each other.”
A passion for rock and the blues isn’t the only thing The Rides have in common. Stills and Shepherd, share a mutual love of classic cars (which inspired the band’s name). In that light, it’s not surprising that the title of their new album is a riff on the famed Pierce-Arrow Motor Car Company, a maker of luxury cars in the first four decades of the 20th Century—it was the ultimate musician’s mode of transportation back in the 20’s and 30’s.

“Pierced Arrow” Track Listing:

  1. Kick Out of It
  2. Riva Diva
  3. Virtual World
  4. By My Side
  5. Mr. Policeman
  6. Use My Imagination
  7. Game On
  8. I Need Your Lovin’
  9. There Was A Place
  10. My Babe (Willie Dixon)

To purchase “Pierced Arrow” visit:

For more information visit:

429 Records is a unit of The Savoy Label Group (SLG).  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company with an extensive roster of leading rock, blues, jazz, classical and world recording artists. SLG is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.
Kurt Nishimura

The SLG, Savoy Jazz and Denon Records catalogs are available for purchase at the following sites: