Home » Other » Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals Review

Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals Review

In our article on the Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals, we will be finding out a couple of interesting things about the cymbals. Plus, we will also be delving into some interesting Zildjian history. How well do you know your Zildjian? Well, we’d have to find out, won’t we?

Anyway, one reason the Zildjian L80 is really unique is that it is low volume. Don’t worry, we will discuss how that is possible as we go deeper into the review. But what’s even more significant is that there aren’t that many low volume cymbal options in the market.

That said, we are pretty excited to be bringing you this review. We’ve done a thorough research on the product and the brand behind the product. So, stay with us for all the info you need!


Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals

Our rating:4.4 out of 5 stars (4.4 / 5)

About Zildjian Cymbals…

Zildjian is probably the oldest company in the United States. Did you know that? Well, now you do. The Avedis Zildjian Company was founded nearly 400 years ago in 1623! And it’s still standing! That’s incredible!

Anyway, the company was founded during what was called the Ottoman Empire. However, currently, it is now based in Norwall, Massachusetts.

Before we get to how the company actually started. Have you ever wondered what Zildjian means? Well, the answer is actually right in front of you.

First of all, Zildjian is a Turkish name and it means “Cymbal Maker Son Of”. It was Sultan Osman II who gave Avedis Zildjian this name lord knows how many centuries back.

Zildjian L80 Low Volume 141618 Cymbals

Now, how did the company get started?

Well, Avedis Zildjian was an alchemist. And at the time (we’re talking 1618) he was searching for a way to turn metal into gold. Yep, we kid you not. Anyway, as he was experimenting and all, he accidentally created an alloy by combining copper, tin, and silver.

Now, when this happened, he discovered that when he flattened the alloy it could create musical sounds. And so the first Zildjian cymbals came to be.

But it wasn’t all smooth sailing though. Zildjian didn’t just suddenly start making a bajillion dollars because it wasn’t until the 19th century that musicians started using Zildjian’s cymbals. In fact, guess what the cymbals were used as? Noisemakers to scare away enemies of the Ottoman Empire!

Anyway, like the Krusty Krab of Bikini Bottom, Zildjian never tells its secret recipe. However, we know the cymbals are approximately 20% tin and 80% copper.

Zildjian keeps the secret tightly within the family, and only heirs are privy to the info. And since we aren’t Zildjian descendants, oh well, we couldn’t get that information for you.

The Zildjian L80 Cymbals Are Low Volume – What Does That Mean?

So what Zildjian did here is that they used a proprietary metal alloy to produce these cymbals. Remember we told you that Zildjian uses a secret recipe? Well, yeah, that secret recipe is responsible for the much quieter sound we get from these cymbals than from more traditional cymbals.

So, with the proprietary metal alloy and a matte finish plus strategically placed perforations, these cymbals are not loud. Instead, they sound a little dull and tend to produce a much lower tone.

So, in all, these cymbals reduce the volume of your sound and nicely too. However, one thing we really appreciate is that Zildjian didn’t sacrifice on other aspects of the cymbals. And by that we mean that the feel and response of these cymbals are excellent.

Zildjian L80 Low Volume  Cymbals

The L80 cymbals actually feel like you’re playing actual cymbals. For low volume cymbals, that’s pretty impressive!

Furthermore, the sustain of these cymbals are great as well. Expectedly of course, the sustain isn’t exactly long. In fact, it’s kinda short. Nonetheless, it still gives a much more superior experience to using rubber cymbals muted with fabric.

Hence, rather than the ping or dead tick you’d get from such muted rubber cymbals, the Zildjian L80’s give a much better feel and performance.

What Are The Zildjian L80 Cymbals Best For?

With their low volume attribute you probably have ideas for where you can use these cymbals. And you’re right too. The Zildjian L80 Low Volume Cymbals are excellent for use in all kinds of places from lesson rooms to practice spaces.

They could also work as an optional set of cymbals for the drummer that likes to play it extremely quiet on their gigs.

Furthermore, if you practice at home and you don’t want to disturb your roommates, family members or neighbors, these work. You can use these cymbals with drum practice pads. Or you can also use these together with a mesh head electronic kit.


You’ll be able to play whenever you want and still get as close to a natural response as possible.

Lastly, another way you can use this is for mastering new concepts. So, if you need to rehearse last minute or you need to quickly warm up backstage before going up, you can use these cymbals too.

The Looks Of These Cymbals

The Zildjian L80 cymbals come in a cymbal set which is supposed to be a budget friendly option for beginners. Nonetheless, these cymbals still look good. It sorta reminds you of the Gen16 series.

If you’ve been around these cymbals, you can easily tell that the inspiration for the Zildjian L80 came from the G16 series. Just like the G16, Zildjian also utilized the perforation method to achieve a lower volume. The only difference here is that the Gen16 comes with electronics while the L80 doesn’t.

The makers perforated each side of the cymbal on the entire surface of the cymbal. Also, there are two solid strips on each of the cymbals as well – one around the cup, and another around the edge. These strips are also perforated as well.

So, there are two zones of perforation on the cymbals. As the holes are approaching the center of the cymbals, the holes tend to cluster closer together than around the edge.

Now, like we mentioned initially, these cymbals look good. So, in addition, the cymbals also carry the L80 Low Volume logo as well as the Zildjian logo of course. So, in the looks department, the Zildjian L80 fits the bill.

What Does Buying These Cymbals In A Pack Mean?

Now, here’s something you need to understand when we talk about cymbals. Buying in a pack is always much less expensive than buying individually. In fact, cymbal packs are usually entry-level products with a budget friendly price that’s attractive to the beginner.

So, if you’re working with a tight budget, you might want to consider getting the Zildjian L80 Low Volume Cymbals. Zildjian does have individual cymbals, if you want. But, of course, those cost more.


Plus, if you aren’t an expert you might not even know what exactly you’re going for just yet. Hence, buying in a pack is more advised for the beginner.

Now, if you do get this cymbal pack and one sounds a little off for you, you can always sell that erring cymbal and replace it. We doubt you’d have to do that though. For the purpose, these cymbals are pretty sufficient.

Some Frequently Asked Questions About The Zildjian L80 Low Volume Cymbals

Is There A Hihat In The Zildjian L80 Low Volume Cymbal Pack?

Yes, there is. The hihat comes in a 14 inch size.

Can You Integrate The Zildjian L80 Low Volume Cymbals Into An Electronic Drum Set?

Well, you can but it’s not exactly easy. However, with some effort you can make the integration work. But then, keep in mind that this product is designed to give you a quiet cymbal performance for an acoustic kit. It can work though, as long as you can make it work.

Best Zildjian L80 Low Volume 141618 Cymbals review

Advantages Of The Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals

  • It is about 80% quieter than most traditional cymbals of the same size you find around.
  • Gives your drumsticks a nice rebound and response like an actual cymbal.
  • Hihat cymbal gives a nice splash like a real hi-hat. It sounds much better than hi-hat muting options.
  • Low volume which is great for practice and times when you don’t want to be a nuisance.
  • Cymbals feel pretty natural too.
  • These cymbals are also child-friendly.
  • They look great.
  • These cymbals come with the high frequencies significantly reduced.

Disadvantages Of The Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals

The only disadvantage of these cymbals lies somewhere in its major advantage – that is, its low volume. In order to make it a low volume, these cymbals have a special alloy construction which is different from what you find on full volume cymbals.

So, be careful, especially if you’re a hard hitter. If you play these too aggressively for a while, they could break before time.


Conclusion

The Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals are great quality and extremely effective for drummers who need a quiet cymbal solution. They feel real, respond right, and perform just like real cymbals. In fact, the hi-hat cymbal in the pack is one of the best hihats in the market for quiet practice.

With their price tag, these cymbals are quite cost effective usable by all kinds of drummers even beginners. It’s also great that even at that, Zildjian did not give us any less than what we’ve come to expect from the brand in terms of quality and innovation.

Amazingly quiet cymbals, these cymbals are a definite winner for us!

Zildjian L80 Low Volume 14/16/18 Cymbals Review
4.9 (97.6%) 25 votes

Leave a Comment